Tags

If you know your skin type and know how to care for it, then you are skin savvy.  For those of you not sure, hopefully my skin story will help.

Before I became an Esthetician, the only thing I could tell you about my skin was, it’s oily and I have occasional break-outs and some dark spots.  Due to the break-outs, I was using products for acne.  Which would have been ok if I was using them correctly.  As a result my skin had become dry, irritated, and I experienced some peeling.

I learned that my skins pH levels were no longer balanced.  This was due to my improper use of products containing benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid (BHA).  When used correctly these products are great for acne and anti-aging treatments.

Due to my improper use of these products, I was striping away my acid mantle.  This is the thin protective layer on top of the epidermis made of sebum and sweat, that protects your skin from bacteria and other environmental elements.  When our acid mantle is compromised we are more susceptible to acne, eczema and rosacea.

What would I say about my skin today?

I have combination skin, that is oily in the t-zone and the peripheral is usually dry.  I have (PID) post inflammatory hyperpigmentation from the acne.  In addition, I learned what products work best for my skin type.  Instead of using a harsh cleansers with acne treatment that will completely dry out my skin, I know use a mild cleanser that’s more gentle on my skin.  I following up with acne treatments with a low percentage of benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid.  Also, I use a lightening serum for the hyperpigmentation, moisturizer, and broad-spectrum sun screen of 30.

Learning the right skin care routine for me has taken time, money and some frustration, but I am happy to say, I am now skin savvy.

D. Nicole

