Tags

,

Recently I had a conversation with a relative.  We were Good Healthdiscussing the amount of debt she has.  She attributed it to doctor bills and high priced medications.  Some of her health issues include diabetes, high blood pressure, arthritis, and carpal tunnel.  She added that if it was not for doctor bills and high priced medications, she would be financially secure.

This got me thinking.  What will my health condition be when I’m 60?  Will I be active? Will I be healthy?

According to the American Diabetes Association,  “Diabetes is one of the most serious health problems African Americans face today.”

What can we do now to prevent diabetes?

1. Stay at a healthy weight.

2. Eat well.

3. Be active.

“With these steps, you can stay healthy longer and lower your risk of diabetes.”  American Diabetes Association

My family has a history with diabetes and high blood pressure.  I owe it to myself and my kids to break the cycle of bad health and poor eating habits.  My goal is to get in good habits now to live better tomorrow.

D. Nicole

 

Follow up: Can juicing really improve your health?

